About Us

The Sydney Bears are an amateur ice hockey team in the Australian Ice Hockey League (AIHL).

The team plays out of Macquarie Ice Rink in Sydney, New South Wales. They have won two Goodall Cup championships since their founding in 2000, most recently in 2007. The Bears are the last remaining original team in the AIHL, after the Canberra Knights and Adelaide Avalanche folded and were reformed under different names. The team has previously played out of Penrith Ice Palace and Sydney Ice Arena.


The Bears were founded in 1982 and were originally known as the Macquarie Bears. With the impending formation of a national league the team decided to change their name to the Sydney Bears in 1997.

The Bears are two-time winners of the Goodall Cup and won the AIHL championship in 2002 and 2007. The team also won the Goodall Cup tournament in 2001 in Newcastle, the last time the Cup was awarded independently of the AIHL.

The Bears are the last remaining original team in AIHL after both Canberra and Adelaide folded and restarted under new names and management.

In 2002, the Bears defeated the Avalanche in the Goodall Cup final for their second consecutive Cup and their first and only AIHL Championship. In 2007 the team announced they would move to Penrith for the 2007 AIHL season at which time, dropping "Sydney" to become The Bears, or AIHL Bears. For the start of the 2010 season the Bears reverted to their previous name of Sydney Bears. It was that year the Bears also won their second AIHL Championship and their most recent to date.

You can contact us using the form below or email us at the following addresses:


General Infocontact@sydneybears.com
Marketing: marketing@sydneybears.com
Website enquiries: webmaster@sydneybears.com


The Bears AIHL Inc
11 Walker Street, Canada Bay, NSW 2046
ABN: 87 118 540 611